[Search]  Search   [Groups]  Back to EA Forum Index  
Compatability issues with Sims 2 on Windows 7  XML
Answers HQ - Questions & Comments  > EA Forums General Discussion
Author Message




Joined: 06/23/2010 06:28:34
Messages: 1
Offline

I figured this one out. It isn't Windows 7 that's the problem for once, it's actually the NVIDA graphics drivers.
The 197.13 driver package doesn't work properly with directX, hence the game won't work and you get that annoying message.
Go to the NVIDIA website and download the latest driver package for your graphics card, install that over the old one, and hey presto, the Sims 2 works!

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 06/23/2010 04:36:46




[Avatar]
Joined: 06/21/2009 17:09:09
Messages: 115
Location: Connecticut
Offline

For those still having display issues, in addition to the XP compatibility mode, check Disable visual themes and Disable desktop composition.



Forum Admin
[Avatar]
Joined: 02/23/2009 12:12:01
Messages: 4528
Offline

Hi, folks.

Here the the instructions for adjusting DEP, which fixes many Windows 7 issues:

http://easims.custhelp.com/cgi-bin/easims.cfg/php/enduser/std_adp.php?p_faqid=37097

Regards,

-Big Guy-

Visit us on Facebook - http://www.facebook.com/pages/EA-Customer-Support/48228353146

Follow us on Twitter - http://twitter.com/AskEASupport
[WWW]




Joined: 06/30/2010 23:55:59
Messages: 1
Offline

hi i have windows 7 64 bit pc and i cant install sims 2. It will install the first disk but it gets to the second disk and stops at 48 percent can someone please help me with this issue much appreciated thanks


Forum Admin
[Avatar]
Joined: 02/23/2009 12:12:01
Messages: 4528
Offline

You may also have some success with 98 or Windows 2000 emulation. Please note that The Sims 2 was not designed with post-XP systems in mind, and performance may be affected.

-Big Guy-

Visit us on Facebook - http://www.facebook.com/pages/EA-Customer-Support/48228353146

Follow us on Twitter - http://twitter.com/AskEASupport
[WWW]




Joined: 07/03/2010 02:59:49
Messages: 2
Offline

HELP PLEASE!!!
Hi, i have Windows 7 on my laptop and i have borrowed The Sims 2 from a friend to install it.
The Sims 2 installed fine but when i double click on the icon to play it, a message saying "This program has known compatibility issues" pops up. i can either Check for solutions online (which takes me to the sims 2 website to download a patch. i dont know what that is) or i can Run Program. if i click run program, then it goes into the sims 2 but its not full screen
if anyone knows how to make the game play with a full screen, or how to fix the compatibility issue, please let me know. it would be much appreciated




Joined: 07/03/2010 17:37:21
Messages: 1
Offline

My compatibility issue is part Sims 2, part the download manager. I bought a few of the expansion packs in download version and they loaded fine, but when it got to the install part, it refused to install. I would click the install button, it would show the installing sign for a few seconds then the icon would return to the install button. Can anyone help me with this?




Joined: 07/03/2010 02:59:49
Messages: 2
Offline

nevermind, ive fixed my problem.
i installed a patch and it fixed the compatibility issue, then i changed the resolution IN the game and it made it fullscreen.




Joined: 07/29/2010 12:36:06
Messages: 1
Offline

Hi everyone, i got compatibilities issues myself.

First, i couldn't install my copy of The Sims 2, so i run it in Windows XP SP3 mode and solved this problem-- after installing the game, i patched it and everything was ok.

Secondly, i installed University(this, too, in XP compatibility mode)and after the installation, tha game searched for updates, at this point there's been a problem upgrading and it automatically started to uninstall the expansion pack! °__°

Later i'll try again and tell you the exact error message and whatnot (i can't remember exactly what it says, now).
Anybody had the same issue?




Joined: 08/28/2010 19:00:45
Messages: 1
Offline

Ok ... SO I am alsop having these issues ... my question now is:

HOW do I run windows 7 in XP compatibility mode so I can install my Sims 2?

It does not let me finish the installation because it says its incompatible half way through installing the second disc and then it uninstalls it all again for me Lol

I saw here someone said they uninstalled University and now their game won't work?

It tells you everytime you install the expansions to back up your saved games as each one creates a different file and they won't work once you have to uninstall one.

If you have not backed them up you have to uninstall the whole lot and then re-install them to make them work again




Joined: 09/20/2010 04:42:03
Messages: 1
Offline

hi,

i hav had the same prob with my sims 2 pc game on my lapto ( windows 7) and i was wondering if u could please email me a list of instructions so i know wat to do because i do not under stand wat you r trying to tell us to do.I hav tryed downloading a patch but thousends of list come up and u see i just dont know which one i should try please email me.thankyou


regards,
miserybusiness01




Joined: 10/02/2010 22:44:21
Messages: 1
Offline

Hey I tried installing Sims 2 on my windows 7, put it on compatibility mode with windows xp, even 98 but it keeps on saying "Please insert correct CD-Rom and restart application." What am I supposed to do now??


Forum Admin
[Avatar]
Joined: 02/23/2009 12:12:01
Messages: 4528
Offline

Hi there.


For your specific issue, check these FAQs

How to manually uninstall the EADM.
http://easims.custhelp.com/cgi-bin/easims.cfg/php/enduser/std_adp.php?p_faqid=11090

How do I manually uninstall Ambitions ?
http://easims.custhelp.com/cgi-bin/easims.cfg/php/enduser/std_adp.php?p_faqid=47609

How do I manually uninstall The Sims 3: High End Loft Stuff?
http://easims.custhelp.com/cgi-bin/easims.cfg/php/enduser/std_adp.php?p_faqid=46622

How do I manually uninstall The Sims 3 World Adventures?
http://easims.custhelp.com/cgi-bin/easims.cfg/php/enduser/std_adp.php?p_faqid=23839

How do I manually uninstall The Sims 3?
http://easims.custhelp.com/cgi-bin/easims.cfg/php/enduser/std_adp.php?p_faqid=22226

-Big Guy-

Visit us on Facebook - http://www.facebook.com/pages/EA-Customer-Support/48228353146

Follow us on Twitter - http://twitter.com/AskEASupport
[WWW]




Joined: 12/27/2010 13:46:33
Messages: 1
Offline

I have windows 7 and i tried running it in all compatibility modes possible , it actually works but i can't design my own house , i can only buy stuff and put it inside a house but whenever i hit the build button just nothing works there




Joined: 01/09/2011 00:54:41
Messages: 1
Offline

I too am having problems, but only with the Ikea Home Stuff expansion. I managed to install the double deluxe edition and get it working with XP compatibility. But if I install the IHS expansion and try to run the program, even with XP compatibility, the message I get says: "conflict with emulation software detected". So I uninstalled IHS expansion and it works again.

I'm going to try playing it and see if I have any other problems, but I would like to be able to play with the expansion. I also want to buy more expansions, but see no point if I can't get them going. I could buy Sims3, but are their similar problems with that too?
Answers HQ - Questions & Comments  > EA Forums General Discussion
Go to: