[Search]  Search   [Groups]  Back to EA Forum Index  
The sims3 launcher has stopped working  XML
Answers HQ - Questions & Comments  > EA Forums General Discussion
Author Message




Joined: 08/16/2010 11:18:12
Messages: 1
Offline

My sims 3 game stopped working after my sis uploaded somthing now its not compatible with my game and that i have to make a upload thingie . HELPPPPPPPP!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!


Forum Admin
[Avatar]
Joined: 02/23/2009 12:12:01
Messages: 4531
Offline

Hi there.

Check your devices and drivers to make sure everything is working correctly and up to date:
https://easims.custhelp.com/cgi-bin/easims.cfg/php/enduser/std_adp.php?p_faqid=10711

Troubleshooting tips:
https://easims.custhelp.com/cgi-bin/easims.cfg/php/enduser/std_adp.php?p_faqid=22231

And the system requirements, for reference:
https://easims.custhelp.com/cgi-bin/easims.cfg/php/enduser/std_adp.php?p_faqid=21652

Also, check the heat being produced by your system, CPU, and graphics card, along with the output of your power supply.

Regards,

-Big Guy-

Visit us on Facebook - http://www.facebook.com/pages/EA-Customer-Support/48228353146

Follow us on Twitter - http://twitter.com/AskEASupport
[WWW]




Joined: 08/27/2010 10:31:51
Messages: 1
Offline

Here was my situation: I just replaced the motherboard in my computer and thus had to reinstall Windows 7 (64-bit). During the installation, Windows setup had copied all my previous files into a folder called "Windows.old", thus retaining my saved game files in my Documents folders. I had to copy them over once I got the launcher to work.

I installed all of my motherboard and video card drivers, then proceeded to install programs. Installing Sims 3 went without a hitch, but when I went to run it, I kept getting a "sims3launcher has stopped working" error. I tried uninstalling and reinstalling several times to no avail. I did finally get it to work, and I have posted the exact steps I followed below. However, I highly recommend you try the following suggestions first, as they may resolve the problem without having to run the extra utility programs.

Try uninstalling The Sims 3, EA Download Manager, and Adobe Air. When prompted, choose not to remove your saved game files. Navigate to the Sims 3 install directory to make sure it is completely removed. Mine was still there and I had to delete it manually. The default location is "C:\Program Files\Electronic Arts\", or C:\Program Files (x86)\Electronic Arts\" for 64 bit versions of Windows. If you see a folder named "The Sims 3", delete it (along with all it's sub folders).
Download the current version of the http://eastore.ea.com/eadm from the EA Store, but do not install it yet.
Restart your computer before reinstalling.
Temporarily disable your antivirus protection before re-installing. Normally I'd tell you to also disable your network connection, but I think EA Download manager needs to be online to download Adobe Air? Someone please try this out, and post your results.
Install the EA Download Manager first. When a pop-up appears to install Adobe Air, allow that also.
Finally, Install the Sims 3, then re-enable your antivirus protection. Run The Sims 3 from the desktop shortcut icon. If Adobe Air tells you an update is available, ignore it for now. We're just trying to get the launcher to run.

At this point, the launcher window should pop up and tell you that an update is available for the game. Make sure you let it download and install any game updates before trying to load any saved games.

I hope this works for you. If not, this is what I did to resolve the problem, step by step:

*Disclaimer: Follow these steps at your own risk! I am not responsible if you damage / delete personal or operating system files and folders.

1. From control panel, uninstall The Sims 3, EA Download Manager, and Adobe Air. When prompted, choose not to remove your saved game files.
2. Using Windows Explorer, navigate to the Sims 3 install directory to make sure it is completely removed. Mine was still there and I had to delete it manually. The default location is "C:\Program Files\Electronic Arts\", or C:\Program Files (x86)\Electronic Arts\" for 64 bit versions of Windows. If you see a folder named "The Sims 3", delete it.
3. Restart your computer.
4. Download the current version of the http://eastore.ea.com/eadm from the EA Store, but do not install it yet.
5. Download the programs "CCleaner" and "Wise Registry Cleaner Free". You can download them off of Cnet Downloads.com, or do a Google search.
6. Install and run CCleaner.
7. Install and run Wise Registry Cleaner Free. Make sure you make a system recovery file and a full registry backup before a scan. Click scan, then fix. Look through the remaining entries that were suspect, but not deleted. If you see any entries that mention The Sims or EADM, check the box for the line entry and click fix again.
8. Restart your computer
9. Temporarily disable your antivirus program.
10. Install the EA Download Manager. When a pop-up appears to install Adobe Air, allow that also.
11. Install the Sims 3
12. Re-enable your antivirus protection.
13. Run The Sims 3 from the desktop shortcut icon. If Adobe Air tells you an update is available, ignore it for now.

At this point, the launcher window should pop up and tell you that an update is available for the game. Make sure you let it download and install any game updates before trying to load any saved games.

Best of luck to you!

~DblDamage




Joined: 08/30/2010 15:39:31
Messages: 1
Offline

Hi everyone. umm I did what alot of people were saying to do on here. i went to the control panel, clicked uninstall program. then i reinstalled it and clicked the icon when it was done. It said Sims3Launcher has stopped working. "A problem caused the program to stop working correctly. Windows will close the program and notify you if a solution is available." I have a Windows Vista computer and I REALLY want to play my game. someone plz help me..




Joined: 09/30/2010 16:25:23
Messages: 1
Offline

Hey there.

I was wondering why not instead making a fix or a patch or a small tool to fix that bug its better than deleting all the files or whatever cause before i installed the latest stuff pack fast lane stuff i never had problems with this issue before and now i have did everything thats been told but none is a proper solution i still have the same issue and bug


Forum Admin
[Avatar]
Joined: 02/23/2009 12:12:01
Messages: 4531
Offline

Hi there.


For your specific issue, check these FAQs

How to manually uninstall the EADM.
http://easims.custhelp.com/cgi-bin/easims.cfg/php/enduser/std_adp.php?p_faqid=11090

How do I manually uninstall Ambitions ?
http://easims.custhelp.com/cgi-bin/easims.cfg/php/enduser/std_adp.php?p_faqid=47609

How do I manually uninstall The Sims 3: High End Loft Stuff?
http://easims.custhelp.com/cgi-bin/easims.cfg/php/enduser/std_adp.php?p_faqid=46622

How do I manually uninstall The Sims 3 World Adventures?
http://easims.custhelp.com/cgi-bin/easims.cfg/php/enduser/std_adp.php?p_faqid=23839

How do I manually uninstall The Sims 3?
http://easims.custhelp.com/cgi-bin/easims.cfg/php/enduser/std_adp.php?p_faqid=22226

-Big Guy-

Visit us on Facebook - http://www.facebook.com/pages/EA-Customer-Support/48228353146

Follow us on Twitter - http://twitter.com/AskEASupport
[WWW]




Joined: 10/08/2010 16:34:59
Messages: 2
Offline

Hi There

I seem to have a totaly diffrent problem to everyone else. I open Launcher fine, but when I click on the large 'play' button on the left hand side nothing happens. No matter how long I leave it or how many times I click it it wont work. As soon as I click on 'downloads' it will all freeze. I have uninstalled and reinstalled so many times and tried all advice I have found but nothing makes any diffrence
Please help I miss my Sims.

Simscrazy033




Joined: 10/08/2010 16:34:59
Messages: 2
Offline

thesims.simscrazy033 wrote:Hi There

I seem to have a totaly diffrent problem to everyone else. I open Launcher fine, but when I click on the large 'play' button on the left hand side nothing happens. No matter how long I leave it or how many times I click it it wont work. As soon as I click on 'downloads' it will all freeze. I have uninstalled and reinstalled so many times and tried all advice I have found but nothing makes any diffrence
Please help I miss my Sims.

Simscrazy033


Me again...Ok now without any Add-Ons installed my game will work. So I can play just with the base game but I really need to find a way for it to work with Add-Ons after I have spent so much money on colecting all of them, Please Help

Simscrazy033




Joined: 10/13/2010 20:33:53
Messages: 1
Offline

thesims.rtsew wrote:HI. Instead of deleting the entire sims3 file, locate the DCCache folder. Inside of it was a file called missingdeps.idx. I deleted it and my game started and updated itself upon start. It now works.


I had the same problem with the launcher and I kept reinstalling and when I read this, I deleted the file and now the launcher works!


Forum Admin
[Avatar]
Joined: 02/23/2009 12:12:01
Messages: 4531
Offline

Thanks for posting that!

-Big Guy-

Visit us on Facebook - http://www.facebook.com/pages/EA-Customer-Support/48228353146

Follow us on Twitter - http://twitter.com/AskEASupport
[WWW]




Joined: 10/18/2010 12:34:58
Messages: 2
Offline

where do i locate the folder dccache?




Joined: 10/18/2010 12:34:58
Messages: 2
Offline

i have tried all the suggestions to fix my game launcher and none of them are working or helping.... what else can i do to fix my game?




Joined: 10/18/2010 14:32:17
Messages: 1
Offline

Ok so my issue isn't starting the Sims 3 -- The launcher opens fine, the game starts fine, but when I start playing the game i get the error message "The Sims3 launcher has stopped working" how do i fix this? I thought it was my graphics card but its not, its not my display driver as i've update everything Please help!!




Joined: 10/18/2010 20:37:11
Messages: 1
Offline

This is the message I get when I open my Launcher:

"The application failed to initialize properly. Please ensure you are not attempting to run the application on multiple Windows accounts simultaniously. If the problem still persists, please reinstall the application."

Is this the same error everyone else is getting? When I close the game launcher, it errors out and asks to send an error report, which just causes it to lock up until I manually kill the error reporting.

I have uninstalled an reinstalled the game, but this did not fix the error. I also found and deleted the missingdeps.idx files, but that did not help.




Joined: 10/31/2010 23:54:40
Messages: 2
Offline

I did get the same problem like you and the other people but it get better after I updated the EA download manager. I don't see that massage again but don't know how long it will stay fine like this. anyway I recommend you to download a registry machanic and scan your pc with it and scan your pc everytimes after you play a game. anyway don't put too much package files into your game.

This message was edited 2 times. Last update was at 10/31/2010 22:11:31

Answers HQ - Questions & Comments  > EA Forums General Discussion
Go to: