[Search]  Search   [Groups]  Back to EA Forum Index  
Direct X reporting there is not enough Video Memory  XML
Tiger Woods PGA TOUR Series  > Tiger Woods PGA TOUR® PC Discussion
Author Message




Joined: 12/11/2008 10:47:09
Messages: 79
Offline

the Readme file ships with the game ... 18 months ago
so it only lists the cards that were deemed compatible at that time




Joined: 01/03/2007 12:01:50
Messages: 1971
Offline

> I've tried 3 different video cards.
> The on board GeForece 6100 (set for 256 MB VRAM)
> (disabled with PCI-e card in place) and new Geforce
> 9600 GSO 768 MB Video card and a ATI Radeon X1950 Pro
> (256 MB VRAM) borrowed from a co-worker.
> All three give two error popups, and the game will
> not run.
> "The game does not officially support this video card
> ...", followed by "DirectX is reporting that there is
> not enough video memory to run the game."
> System Requirements Lab says that my 9600 card
> exceeds the requirements.
>
> I see from a number of previous similar error reports
> that there was usually a patch to fix the issue (2002
> & 2003), but nothing yet from support.
> (Readme says I have Ver. 1.0 -- 7/20/07)
> The ReadMe file also does not show any newer GeForce
> video cards (9 series).

I am running TW 08 with a Nvidia 9800gt 512mb on vista home pre. 64 with no problems. It also ran fine with Nvidia 7600gs 256mb. vista home pre. have you ran dxdiag? Also trying so many video cards and drivers you could have driver conflicts. I would un-install the game and all the video drivers. Reboot the PC Then I would install the new video card drivers for the 9600 video card (would most likely work) Then I would reinstall the game.




Joined: 08/28/2005 12:29:30
Messages: 83
Offline

It sounds like your system isn't recognizing the newer cards. Use the RUN command, then type DXDIAG, this will show which video card is being used. The "9 series" cards aren't in the Readme because they didn't exist when the game was released.

Message was edited by: kbracer2002 (EA.com)

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 01/26/2009 03:56:37





Joined: 01/17/2009 23:53:15
Messages: 14
Offline

Why does everyone think I don't realize that the readme would only show the cards that were supported at the time the game was released?

My point was that when this same problem happened previously, EA put out an update to support the new cards and fix the issue. So far, no update.

The issue of the cards not being supported is minor, just a pop up.
It is the DirectX error which prevents the game from running and is the major issue.

Does anyone know of a way to bypass the DirectX check when the game starts?
(that was my original question to support and they have not supplied any way to do so)

I'm coming to the conclusion that something in the mainboard or BIOS is blocking DirectX, but can't see how or find a way around it.




Joined: 01/17/2009 23:53:15
Messages: 14
Offline

Do you get the popup message that the card is not supported when you start the game?




Joined: 01/17/2009 23:53:15
Messages: 14
Offline

I keep forgetting what info I have posted where.

DXDIAG shows Approx. Total Memory: N/A
Direct Draw Acceleration - Not Available
AGP Texture Acceleration - Not Available

However 3DMark06 and System Requirements Lab disagree and say there is 768 MB of video RAM (with the 9600 GSO card in) and Accelerations are all working.
It's only DirectX and DXDAIG that show problems.
Hence my request for a way to bypass it.




Joined: 12/11/2008 10:47:09
Messages: 79
Offline

> My point was that when this same problem happened
> previously, EA put out an update to support the new
> cards and fix the issue. So far, no update.

in 2002-03 you said

EA has not released updates for card related matters in a long time, not since i started with 05
no reason to think they would now

you're getting conflicting information from DXdiag etc
and System Requirements Lab is not infallible

did you try the suggested - remove all cards, clean all drivers out, etc method previous?

you're sure the onboard chip is disabled?
in the bios?

just because you put a pci-e card in, doesn't mean the system will disable the onboard

have you tried updating DX ?
http://www.filehippo.com/download_directx/

do you have another PC you can test that card in?

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 01/27/2009 23:23:04





Joined: 01/03/2007 12:01:50
Messages: 1971
Offline

> Do you get the popup message that the card is not
> supported when you start the game?

No the only problem I had was game would crash to taskbar with older drivers and that was fixed with the newer drivers. Sounds like you need to reinstall Direct X 32bit or 64bit check at microsoft.com. Have you went to Nvidia.com and got the newest video drivers for the video card for your XP,vista 32bit or 64bit. The only other thing i can think of is the odd ball 768mb ram may be the issue with the game but Direct X is what is having the problems.




Joined: 01/17/2009 23:53:15
Messages: 14
Offline

Yep, tried removing all the drivers and loading the latest ones from Nvidia and from XFX (the card manufacturer).
Tried reloading DirectX from Microsoft's site too.

Same problem happens if I install a ATI card.
That card has been used with the game in another computer.

The BIOS only shows Auto or Always On for the onboard chip. I've tried 5 different BIOS', including a mod version, but none of them actually have a way to fully disable the GPU.
The mainboard manufacturer is not responding. (neither is XFX)

I have no other reason to upgrade the system and replacing all the guts (I would have to replace the mainboard, CPU, Fan and memory) just to play a golf game, doesn't seem reasonable to me.

I've been hoping to find a way to tell the game to bypass the DirectX check, but no luck so far.
I'm going to try reloading DirectX again.




Joined: 01/17/2009 23:53:15
Messages: 14
Offline

Thanks.
I'm going to try reloading DirectX and then give up if nobody has a way to bypass the check when the game starts.

I loaded Vista Ultimate to another hard drive and DirectX in it gives the same error.
Has to be the GPU BIOS setting (See my other message).




Joined: 01/03/2007 12:01:50
Messages: 1971
Offline

Were you able to get TW installed? If so have you tried the /NOINTRO on the desk top short cut. My BIOS for the video card is set on AUTO.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 01/29/2009 05:08:07





Joined: 01/17/2009 23:53:15
Messages: 14
Offline

Thanks.
Yes, the game installed fine. Never a problem there, it is when I try to run it that the issue comes up.
I have no had info on any command line parameters (that's what I have been looking for).
From your suggestion, I changed the shortcut to read
"C:\Program Files\EA SPORTS\Tiger Woods PGA TOUR 08\bin\TW2008.exe" /NOINTRO
Unfortunately, it has had no effect. I still get the two same popups and the game will not run.

Any idea of any more parameters?




Joined: 01/03/2007 12:01:50
Messages: 1971
Offline

> Thanks.
> Yes, the game installed fine. Never a problem there,
> it is when I try to run it that the issue comes up.
> I have no had info on any command line parameters
> (that's what I have been looking for).
> From your suggestion, I changed the shortcut to read
> "C:\Program Files\EA SPORTS\Tiger Woods PGA TOUR
> 08\bin\TW2008.exe" /NOINTRO
> Unfortunately, it has had no effect. I still get the
> two same popups and the game will not run.
>
> Any idea of any more parameters?

I still think your issue is with Direct x and not the game. Unless you get that fixed I don't think you will get it to work. You need tec. support through Microsoft for Direct X and EA for the game and XFX for the card. Also did you make sure to put a space between the .exe" /NOINTRO Other than that I am stumped.



[Avatar]
Joined: 09/30/2005 17:54:29
Messages: 2311
Offline

... sorry to butt in here folks, but it's looking a lot like a dead PCI-e slot on your MB - or, potentially, you don't have enough power supply to power the card (although, if that was the case, chances are the PC would stall during boot-up) ...

Oh, I could spend my life having this conversation - so, look, please try to understand before one of us dies.



[Avatar]
Joined: 01/04/2006 00:29:37
Messages: 860
Location: Myrtle Beach,SC,USA
Offline

"Same problem happens if I install a ATI card.
That card has been used with the game in another computer."

I would say this proves it has nothing to do with the game,its your system that is the problem,the fact you cant turn off your onboard video chip is a major problem,maybe your system cant be upgraded by adding a video card.
There is no way to bypass the DirectX errors,DirectX runs the game and if it thinks there is no video memory and acceleration is turned off it wont start any game.
What make is your motherboard?
Tiger Woods PGA TOUR Series  > Tiger Woods PGA TOUR® PC Discussion
Go to: