[Search]  Search   [Groups]  Back to EA Forum Index  
"error during startup. please see the log for more details" message  XML
Answers HQ - Questions & Comments  > EA Forums General Discussion
Author Message




Joined: 01/26/2011 12:58:46
Messages: 1
Offline

Ok. Here is a very simple solution to the problem that worked for me...

Right click Your sims 3 game on your desktop (In my case it would be late night) click 'run as administrator' the startup screen should come up. click play and voila, your problem should be solved.





Joined: 01/28/2011 16:19:50
Messages: 1
Offline

I have the same problem and I'm so tired of installing and re-insatallin again and again. I don't even count anymore how many times i did it. I installed the base game, then world adventures, then high-end loft but when I did itsaid "unable to start game". I reinstalled everything and start with the base game again,then world adventures,then late night.But now it says "error during the setup please see log." I tried nearly every posibble solution that suggested but nothing changes. And the worst part is my sister installed everything with having no problem. I upgraded my computer but nothing changes. Pleaaassseee somebody, anybody can help me??




Joined: 02/26/2011 14:00:10
Messages: 1
Offline

I kept getting that message when trying to play the sims 3 (I have base game, high end loft stuff, WA, ambitions, and late night), so I'm currently trying to uninstall everything again (for the third time) but now when I try uninstalling late night it says "error has occurred while running the setup"
Details are as follows:
Error Code: -5005 : 0x80070002
Error Information:
>Kernel\KernelMedia.cpp (95)
>SetupNew\setup.cpp (851)
PAPP:
PVENDOR:Electronic Arts (http://www.TheSims3.com)
PGUID:45057FCE-5784-48BE-8176-D9D00AF56C3C
$15.0.0.498
@Windows Vista Service Pack 2 (6002)
IE Version: 8.0.6001.19019

I don't understand why this is happening, I've played the game with all expansions before perfectly fine, and now all of a sudden it messes up and won't even let me uninstall it. (I've tried manually uninstalling also, but that doesn't work either)


Forum Admin
[Avatar]
Joined: 02/23/2009 12:12:01
Messages: 4529
Offline

Hi there.

Can you post your DXDiag output for review, please?

http://support.ea.com/app/answers/detail/a_id/61

Thanks,

-Big Guy-

Visit us on Facebook - http://www.facebook.com/pages/EA-Customer-Support/48228353146

Follow us on Twitter - http://twitter.com/AskEASupport
[WWW]




Joined: 03/07/2011 01:19:28
Messages: 1
Offline

I have this message on about reading the log and error stuff but i play's the game by clicking the sims 3 icon and start the game straight away(like I usually do) and for months, I wanted to get a new world install so I FINALLY open my ambition launcher and then it came outthis error saying "an error occur when starting up, please read the log file for more info"(don't mind me if I typed the message wrongly) and I click the ok button and everything closes. So I was like WTH and I came typing this which means I saw the message the first time now which is funny -_-, please help me to locate where is the log file. XD




Joined: 04/07/2011 14:21:15
Messages: 1
Offline

I am having problems with a patch. i've been playing for awhile but yesterday i had to uninstall it and reinstall it again and it worked fine. it wasn't until it updated then all of the sudden it brings up that message. so i thought hmm maybe it's just acting funny, so i unistalled it again and reinstalled it again and it worked fine. then it updated and now it says that message again.

Does anybody understand why this is doing this? i would like to get this fixed before my sims 3 late night comes in the mail.




Joined: 04/07/2011 14:29:45
Messages: 1
Offline

Sims 3 startup falure. It appears that sims 3 will not start with Microsoft .Net 3.0 or greater installed. To install the version 2 of Dot.Net go to \program files\steam\steam apps\common\the sims 3\install\dot net\dotnetfx.exe. This will revert Microsoft . Net framework back to Version 2.

Versions 3.0, 3.5, and 4.0 of .Net will cause Sims3 to fail at startup.




Joined: 04/07/2011 18:22:35
Messages: 0
Offline

Ya that happened to me. Does anyone know where the log is because now I can't play because of that.




Joined: 04/12/2011 09:16:08
Messages: 0
Offline

I'm having the same problem. It started last night after I tried installing a back-up (after unistalling Outdoor Living Stuff)

I've tried uninstalling and reinstalling several times, but not even the base game will play :/

I'm completely at loss at what to do :/




Joined: 04/12/2011 10:55:11
Messages: 1
Offline

I got this message this morning. My sister in law forgot to pay the stupid internet bill so my computer was connected to a local network the whole time. After I took the ethernet cord out and clicked on the launcher, it worked just fine! Not sure if this will help anybody else, but I'd just thought I'd share.




Joined: 04/14/2011 01:51:46
Messages: 1
Offline

> I got this message a couple of days ago and cannot get it too work!!! I am soo annoyed!! I recently bought Late Night and Outdoor Stuff and it worked fine for about two days then i started getting this message when i uninstalled a few CC objects. I really need help!! PLEASE SOMEONE


Forum Admin
[Avatar]
Joined: 02/23/2009 12:12:01
Messages: 4529
Offline

Hi there.

You'll want to check this user-created thread for instructions on removing CC:

http://forum.thesims3.com/jforum/posts/list/234888.page

-Big Guy-

Visit us on Facebook - http://www.facebook.com/pages/EA-Customer-Support/48228353146

Follow us on Twitter - http://twitter.com/AskEASupport
[WWW]




Joined: 05/17/2011 23:05:02
Messages: 1
Offline

So has anyone figured out how to fix it yet?
Ive been playing Sims 3 for over a year, and all of the sudden a message comes up when i try and open up sims 3. :l i miss sims 3!




Joined: 05/19/2011 16:05:45
Messages: 1
Offline

Same here. I was uninstalling CC using the launcher and then started getting this message. I have done a system restore, updated the EA download manager, and tried everything else I've read but my game still won't load.

Dark1Fairy wrote:> I got this message a couple of days ago and cannot get it too work!!! I am soo annoyed!! I recently bought Late Night and Outdoor Stuff and it worked fine for about two days then i started getting this message when i uninstalled a few CC objects. I really need help!! PLEASE SOMEONE




Joined: 06/05/2011 08:16:13
Messages: 1
Offline

I hate how this happens just as Sims 3 generations is realised, and They just realised the tralier for sims 3 pets! I'm going to try uninstalling it, and re-installing and see how that works.
Answers HQ - Questions & Comments  > EA Forums General Discussion
Go to: