[Search]  Search   [Groups]  Back to EA Forum Index  
Mac install?  XML
SimCity  > General Discussion
Author Message


Developer
[Avatar]
Joined: 04/30/2013 18:08:35
Messages: 1753
Location: Emeryville, CA
Offline

maxlandry wrote:I've switched my OS and my Origin in english and it works, now! I hope it is juste a temporary fix!


We are already working on the resolution to that issue so you can revert to your language of choice.
[WWW]




Joined: 08/29/2013 13:33:48
Messages: 16
Offline

I keep getting this message... You have not activated SimCity on your account. Please activate SimCity in Origin to play. Problem is when I try to register my product it says the code has already been used. Obviously be me.???




Joined: 08/29/2013 14:00:14
Messages: 2
Offline

I have downloaded 2GB data and click "Install" and nothing happens.



[Avatar]
Joined: 04/06/2013 12:47:12
Messages: 162
Location: Amsterdam
Offline

Last EDIT: seems to be running fine now on European server

The first time I started up SC it seemed to work fine. I did some 5 minutes of fooling around with the road tool, then I left sandbox to join a game. It allowed me to play for a couple of minutes more before it crashed to desktop, no warning and no error message.

I tried some 5 times more and every time it crashes to desktop within 1-3 minutes, especially when I click on the join game button. For sure I never reach a game. I've tried different servers already knowing that this would probably not solve the issue. EDIT: Actually now I think it IS the server. Went back to the test server, seems to be running fine now.

iMac 27inch
3.1 Ghz i5
4 GB 1333 MHz DDR3
AMD Radeon HD 6970M 1024 MB
OS X 10.8.4 (updated yesterday from 10.6.8 especially for SC)

*Also tried a complete restart of computer and origin.

*oh and after the third or fourth restart I suddenly got the tutorial, as if starting the game up for the first time. This was not the case before (played some 150 hrs on PC)

*I changed the resolution (before successfully playing for 5 minutes)

This message was edited 3 times. Last update was at 08/29/2013 12:40:27





Joined: 08/29/2013 14:00:21
Messages: 3
Offline

Whyyyy Maxis, whyyy?? Been waiting so long, and then this:



But I AM running 10.7.5:



Anyone knows why? It's a stationary Mac Pro.




Joined: 08/29/2013 14:21:07
Messages: 1
Offline

I keep pressing PLAY and nothing happens..............
Anyone else having the same problem???




Joined: 08/29/2013 14:27:15
Messages: 3
Offline

Is this a joke? I've waited for this game half year more than PC players and now I cant even install this freaking game... What a shame!



[Avatar]
Joined: 04/06/2013 12:47:12
Messages: 162
Location: Amsterdam
Offline

Tidus87PL wrote:Is this a joke? I've waited for this game half year more than PC players and now I cant even install this freaking game... What a shame!


What's happening? Try and give some extra information and someone might be able to help.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 08/29/2013 12:31:14





Joined: 08/29/2013 14:27:15
Messages: 3
Offline

The same as everyone! It doesnt want to install. I press the button all over again and nothing. I wont buy anything more from Origin ;/




Joined: 08/29/2013 14:00:14
Messages: 2
Offline

I tried all! Re-installing, installing, deleting SimCity.app and stil!!!!!!! nothing happens after pressing "Install" button! What a shame MAXIS!!!!!!!




Joined: 07/13/2013 01:41:59
Messages: 122
Offline

SpielKraft wrote:
beans10001 wrote:
Kojak321 wrote:
SpielKraft wrote:
Be careful: It's dangerous !!!!!

type:
»sudo rm -f /Applications/SimCity.app«

Type in your password and try again!

Good Luck! (I'm not responsible for any data-loss! )



Thanks for helping but I get

rm: /Applications/SimCity.app: is a directory
and nothing has changed



It's missing the r option, try this instead:

sudo rm -rf /Applications/SimCity.app


You're right! THX


Thanks. That really did the trick.


Developer
[Avatar]
Joined: 04/30/2013 18:08:35
Messages: 1753
Location: Emeryville, CA
Offline

mihauu wrote:I tried all! Re-installing, installing, deleting SimCity.app and stil!!!!!!! nothing happens after pressing "Install" button! What a shame MAXIS!!!!!!!


Did you run the command from the FAQ in Terminal or run AppCleaner?
[WWW]




Joined: 08/29/2013 10:42:21
Messages: 58
Offline

Tidus87PL wrote:The same as everyone! It doesnt want to install. I press the button all over again and nothing. I wont buy anything more from Origin ;/


All of us who had the issues in the beginning and it got resolved. If you are able to give more details, we can help you, but moaning about it will not help you.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 08/29/2013 13:22:07




[Avatar]
Joined: 08/15/2013 15:38:56
Messages: 398
Offline

Looks like I did the right thing; bought a PC. If I had waited this long, just to start having install and resolution issues, I would have had a heart attack.

I still hate PCs.

<insert pithy quote of your choice>



[Avatar]
Joined: 08/15/2013 15:38:56
Messages: 398
Offline

Woh! Having them run UNIX commands to get it to install? Dammmn!

<insert pithy quote of your choice>
SimCity  > General Discussion
Go to: