[Search]  Search   [Groups]  Back to EA Forum Index  
BF3 Open Beta - "There's a problem with your game's setup. Please reinstall...  XML
Origin  > Bugs and Issues
Author Message




Joined: 09/27/2011 10:07:12
Messages: 1
Offline

"We're sorry, an error has occourred. There's a problem with your game's setup. Please reinstall your game"

I got the same error code while trying to launch BF3 Alpha Trial.
I've reinstalled both EA Origin and BF3 Open Beta but without success.

I'm running it on Windows Vista 64-bit.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 09/27/2011 08:16:17





Joined: 09/27/2011 10:16:40
Messages: 3
Offline

I'm getting the exact same error. Any help?




Joined: 09/27/2011 10:37:22
Messages: 8
Offline

I am also getting the same error I have downloaded the game 3 times now and It has given me the same error. Could we get some help in this thread from a customer support person? I paid for the limited edition for a reason, so I could play the beta early. HELP PLEASE!!




Joined: 01/30/2010 06:34:16
Messages: 3
Offline

Seems like I can't run Activation.exe from OriginGames/Battlefield 3 Open Beta/Core. It briefly pops up under windows task manager, but it disappears really quick.


Developer
[Avatar]
Joined: 04/12/2011 11:23:44
Messages: 944
Offline

Need some more info here folks.

Specifically, directory paths. Where you have things installed.

Basic info:
What version of Windows (7/Vista/XP, 32 or 64-bit)?
What Service Pack level are you on?
Have you downloaded and installed the latest Windows updates and critical patches?
What default language are you running Windows in?

In Origin, click the Options button (cog wheel) and select About. Can you tell us what the Version number is that you are running?

Did you install Origin to the default directory?
Windows 64-bit=C:\Program Files (x86)\Origin
Windows 32-bit=C:\Program Files\Origin

What path is the game installing to? For example mine is: C:\Program Files (x86)\Origin Games\Battlefield 3 Open Beta

Have you looked in that directory to see if the files are being created properly there?

Give us some more info so we can help you troubleshoot this issue.

Thanks,


EA_MikeNoface
Origin Live Support




Joined: 09/27/2011 10:37:22
Messages: 8
Offline

Windows Vista Ultimate 64 bit service pack 1


Windows default language is English.


Origin Beta Version 8.2.5.2532 - 106754

default directory
E:\Program Files (x86)\Origin

path
E:\Program Files (x86)\Origin\Origin Games\Battlefield 3 Open Beta


Battlefield 3 Open Beta Folder size is: 3.90 GB (4,196,768,397 bytes) size on disk is: 3.91 GB (4,200,583,168 bytes)

This message was edited 3 times. Last update was at 09/27/2011 09:05:23





Joined: 09/22/2011 02:54:32
Messages: 3
Offline

Windows Vista, 64 Bit, Service Pack 2 installed.
Origin and game set to English, Windows default language is german.
Origin Beta 8.2.5.2532 - 106754

Origin is installed in the default directory (program files (x86) ) and the beta is installed in exactly the same directory/patch your's is. The Bf3 Open Beta folder is 3.9 GB.

Hope that helps.




Joined: 01/30/2010 06:34:16
Messages: 3
Offline

Windows Vista 64-bit
Service Pack 1
Windows is updated with the latest of patches and updates.
Default Language is Norwegian (Norsk, Bokmål)
Beta for Origin - Version 8.2.5.2532 - 106754

Origin is installed at C:\Program Files (x86)\Origin
C:\Program Files (x86)\Origin Games\Battlefield 3 Open Beta

Battlefield 3 Open Beta folder is 3.9 GB in size.

I think there's something wrong with Activation.exe under C:\Program Files (x86)\Origin Games\Battlefield 3 Open Beta\Core. When launching Battlefield 3 Open Beta through Origin, I notice that EACoreServer.exe is running and listet in the task manager, but Activation.exe pops up and disappears. Nothing happens when I try to launch Application.exe from its folder.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 09/27/2011 09:24:38





Joined: 09/27/2011 11:12:55
Messages: 3
Offline

Vista 64 Bit SP1

Swedish language

Origin Version 8.2.5.2532 - 106754

Default directory
C:\Program Files (x86)\Origin


C:\Program Files (x86)\Origin\Origin Games\Battlefield 3 Open Beta

All other updates installed.




Joined: 09/22/2011 02:54:32
Messages: 3
Offline

So, looks like everyone uses vista 64 bit, coincidence?




Joined: 03/12/2010 12:51:16
Messages: 2
Offline

If someone receiving the general game installation error message would like to help us out here then we could use some trace information to help resolve this.

Update: Several helpful folks have collected and returned logs and we've ruled several things out including virus damage, network etc. All the user logs provided so far match so we don't need anymore at the moment.

Right now I'm pursuing possible virus/malware software interaction as a cause so if you're reading this, having the issue and have such software installed, you might try disabling it before trying the game launch again.

Feel free to contact me at cnielsen@ea.com if you have additional insight.

Craig Nielsen
Electronic Arts, Redwood Shores, CA

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 09/27/2011 11:55:39





Joined: 09/27/2011 10:37:22
Messages: 8
Offline

no problem craig e-mail sent. I noticed when Origin said it was installing for a brief moment a small window popped onto the desktop. Then Origin said the game was installed and ready for play. however it gives me the error:

we're sorry, an error has occurred.
There is a problem with your game's setup. please reinstall your game

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 09/27/2011 09:42:44





Joined: 06/10/2011 06:35:35
Messages: 2
Offline

EA_Craig wrote:If someone receiving the general game installation error message would like to help us out here then we could use some trace information to help resolve this.

The process is pretty simple.
1. You send me an email and I respond with a ZIP file containing a special build of one of the game files.
2. You backup the original file and replace with the new one
3. Attempt to launch the game (and presumably see the same error)
4. Send back the generated log file or cut and paste the relatively simple text from it if you don't do attachments.
5. Optionally restore your original game file for future game play.

Please contact me at cnielsen@ea.com if you can help.

Craig Nielsen
Electronic Arts, Redwood Shores, CA


I got allmost the same problem and i run win xp 32 bit

I have downloaded the game but i cant install ???

Ganme dir is C:/Programs/Origin Games/Battlefield 3 Open Beta
I have updated everything on my computer just for the BF3 BETA and now i cant play

Plz help




Joined: 09/27/2011 11:33:51
Messages: 1
Offline

Xanthip3 wrote:I got allmost the same problem and i run win xp 32 bit

I have downloaded the game but i cant install ???

Ganme dir is C:/Programs/Origin Games/Battlefield 3 Open Beta
I have updated everything on my computer just for the BF3 BETA and now i cant play

Plz help


I don't think BF3 works on Windows XP. Requirement is Vista of Win 7.




Joined: 06/10/2011 06:35:35
Messages: 2
Offline

Ok then thats the problem well im of to micosoft to get win 7 then
Origin  > Bugs and Issues
Go to: