[Search]  Search   [Groups]  Back to EA Forum Index  
"Origin not installed" error  XML
Origin  > Bugs and Issues
Author Message




Joined: 09/27/2011 16:20:57
Messages: 4
Offline

System Specs:
Intel i7 2600k @ 4.2ghz
8gb Corsair Vengeance @ 1600mhz
2TB WD Black
500GB WD Green
Sapphire HD 6950 2gb


Origin Version: 8.2.5.2532

Windows Firewall and UAC: off

Installed correctly in correct locations (C:\Program Files (x86)\Origin Games\Battlefield 3 Open Beta)

Windows 7 Home x64 Service Pack 1

Language: English

Screenshot:
Tag did not work

i.imgur.com/hydcz.jpg

This message was edited 5 times. Last update was at 09/27/2011 14:36:25





Joined: 09/27/2011 14:34:04
Messages: 1
Offline

I'm also getting the same error.



I watched the bar get all the way up to 100%, and it goes back to the orange "Ready to install" button...
I checked my installation and the files are there. When I launch "bf3.exe" I get the error in the screenshot above. When I run Origin as Administrator and "bf3.exe" as administrator (because it still shows "Ready to install" on Origin) I get a different error from 'AWC.dll' ... "Origin is not installed, and is required to play your game. Please reinstall Origin." So idk what's going on.




Joined: 09/27/2011 19:17:25
Messages: 5
Offline

Same error here, origin not installed.

Anyone with a solution yet ?




Joined: 09/27/2011 16:20:57
Messages: 4
Offline

Haven't figured one out yet.




Joined: 09/27/2011 16:20:57
Messages: 4
Offline

Whoops double post

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 09/27/2011 17:33:55





Joined: 09/27/2011 11:43:22
Messages: 1
Offline

Intel i7 2600k
nVidida GeForce GTX 580 1.5gb - 285.38 beta drivers
8gb Corsair Vengeance DDR3 1600mhz
120gb OCZ Agility 3 - OS and apps
2x500gb Seagate in RAID 0 - Games and game related apps
2x500gb Seagate in RAID 0 - Documents

Windows 7 Home Premium - Service Pack 1

Origin Version 8.2.5.2532 - 106754

Windows UAC off
Windows Firewall on

When having the issue Origin and game files were installed to D:\Program Files(x86)\Origin and D:\Program Files(x86)\Origin Games

When launching game I received the error "We're Sorry, an error has occurred: Origin is not installed, and is required to play your game. Please reinstall Origin"

Issue was fixed for me when I removed everything to do with Origin and reinstalled to C:\Program Files(x86)\Origin and used default settings. I'd prefer not to do this but that was the way I got it working.




Joined: 09/27/2011 16:20:57
Messages: 4
Offline

Hey, I installed it on my secondary hd and it works!


Developer
[Avatar]
Joined: 04/12/2011 11:23:44
Messages: 944
Offline

Hello All,

The reason you are getting this error is because you are missing an Origin shell command key in your Windows registry.

This could happen if you are installing Origin in one location (C:\) and then moving it to another directory which would break your registry key.

If you are savvy with navigating the Windows registry, look here:

HKEY_CLASSES_ROOT\origin\shell\open\command

The (default) key should be set to the Origin executable.

If not, that's the cause of the issue. Reinstalling Origin should repair it.

Please post back with your findings.

EA_MikeNoface
Origin Live Support




Joined: 09/28/2011 21:19:21
Messages: 3
Offline

Mike,

The suggested regedit option wasn't located in the area you suggested with Windows 7 Professional x64. I did try reinstalling with no luck. BF3 beta worked fine for me yesterday, but today it continues to say "origin not installed" even though I'm launching bf3 from origin.




Joined: 12/22/2010 05:38:42
Messages: 4
Offline

i did what was suggested and he was right.. i had installed origin on a different drive and so i deleted the whole origin entry and just reinstalled it where i wanted it and it works like a charm.. thx

cheeze out




Joined: 09/28/2011 21:19:21
Messages: 3
Offline

I haven't installed my origin folder to anywhere except the standard location.




Joined: 09/27/2011 19:17:25
Messages: 5
Offline

I originaly installed origin on my C drive as it suggested and still got the error.
Then removed it, rebooted, and installed it again. Error still occurs.

Any other solutions? The regkey u suggested is nowhere to be found.



Developer
[Avatar]
Joined: 04/12/2011 11:23:44
Messages: 944
Offline

Can you savvy folks try these steps and post your results? This has been confirmed to resolve the issue in the Battlelog forums.

1. Exit ORIGIN completely.
2. Run a Command prompt as Administrator
3. Navigate to where ORIGIN is installed
4. Run the command: Origin.exe /Register
5. Run ORIGIN and see if you still get the error message.

Thanks!


http://battlelog.battlefield.com/bf3/forum/threadview/2826551139099908285
For reference.

EA_MikeNoface
Origin Live Support




Joined: 09/28/2011 21:19:21
Messages: 3
Offline

Mike,

Thank you. That fixed it.




Joined: 09/27/2011 19:17:25
Messages: 5
Offline

Dito here, fixed now. Thx !
Origin  > Bugs and Issues
Go to: