[Search]  Search   [Groups]  Back to EA Forum Index  
BF3 Install Error.  XML
Origin  > Bugs and Issues
Author Message




Joined: 10/21/2011 17:35:29
Messages: 6
Offline

I keep getting this error message. DirectX Setup Error: An internal error occurred. I'm running Windows 7 SP1 64bit and have a gtx 580. I shouldn't be having directx issues.


Developer
[Avatar]
Joined: 05/24/2011 13:46:24
Messages: 529
Offline

RaJeKaje wrote:I keep getting this error message. DirectX Setup Error: An internal error occurred. I'm running Windows 7 SP1 64bit and have a gtx 580. I shouldn't be having directx issues.


Have you updated your drivers for BF3? Did you encounter any issues like this when playing the open Beta on PC?

Thanks,
Origin Live Ops

The Origin Live Operations Team




Joined: 10/21/2011 17:35:29
Messages: 6
Offline

I didn't have my pc in time for the beta. I believe i have everything up to date. I just updated my video card drivers yesterday. I don't have any new windows updates. I have dx11




Joined: 10/21/2011 17:35:29
Messages: 6
Offline

Also just did a quick double check of drivers. I have the newest beta drives that are optimized for BF3, all my system updates, and am for sure running dx11. Not sure what could be causing issues. Anything you guys have would be great.




Joined: 10/13/2010 16:59:09
Messages: 4
Offline

I am getting the same error and also have a GTX 580 -- "DirectX Setup Error: An internal error occurred."




Joined: 10/21/2011 18:24:25
Messages: 3
Offline

Let me know if you have any luck. I just tried reinsalling origin with no luck.




Joined: 10/13/2010 16:59:09
Messages: 4
Offline

I also attempted a reinstall with no success. If you figure it out post it back on this page. My drivers are up to date. Have DirectX11




Joined: 10/21/2011 18:24:25
Messages: 3
Offline

Got in with Livechat finally and they didn't resolve my issue at all.




Joined: 10/13/2010 16:59:09
Messages: 4
Offline

seems we're having the same issue... post if you resolve. I'll do the same.




Joined: 10/21/2011 18:24:25
Messages: 3
Offline

Thanks and will do. Hopefully something with turn up for one of us.




Joined: 10/21/2011 17:35:29
Messages: 6
Offline

Got a fix. Go into your origin folder and battlefield3/installer/directx/redist and move all the files out EXCEPT dxsetup, dxsetup.dll and dsetup32.dll and it installed just fine for me. Took me all damned day and night but finally got it to install. I just moved them to a folder in the game folder for the time being. We will see how everything runs once the game can get started. If push comes to shove probably just have to move the files back and all will be well again. If any issues at all.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 10/21/2011 21:42:57





Joined: 10/22/2011 11:15:01
Messages: 1
Offline

The very same error message here on installation which is a bit weird since another dx11 game ran just fine (vista 32 here). What RaJeKaje suggested does make the game install though: I did get the same "DirectX Setup Error: An internal error occurred" message, but it was followed immediately by a "game successfully installed" message this time. Weird stuff; I can only pray that this solution allows me to play the game.

This message was edited 4 times. Last update was at 10/22/2011 09:39:23





Joined: 10/21/2011 18:48:53
Messages: 1
Offline

My computer was all chunked up so I reformatted and that also fixed it after a fresh install of drivers / directx




Joined: 10/23/2011 19:17:19
Messages: 2
Offline

RaJeKaje wrote:Got a fix. Go into your origin folder and battlefield3/installer/directx/redist and move all the files out EXCEPT dxsetup, dxsetup.dll and dsetup32.dll and it installed just fine for me. Took me all damned day and night but finally got it to install. I just moved them to a folder in the game folder for the time being. We will see how everything runs once the game can get started. If push comes to shove probably just have to move the files back and all will be well again. If any issues at all.


Thanks!! I was getting the exact same error (GTX 260) and this fixed it. Hopefully all goes well come Tuesday.




Joined: 10/24/2011 12:24:20
Messages: 5
Offline

I'm having the same problem.

The suggested fix seems a bit extreme, and could cause problems when origin starts the game. I wish EA would address this specific issue and say something like, "We're working on it".

This sort of stuff is really aggravating. All this pre-release hype and it appears I won't be able to play it tonight, or even the days it might take to get this issue sorted out.

Seems like a pretty basic bug... Very surprised they didn't catch and address this in testing, especially when it seems they had a similar bug in the alpha installs.

Origin  > Bugs and Issues
Go to: