[Search]  Search   [Groups]  Back to EA Forum Index  
Battlefield 3 Crashes on Startup (MSVCR100.dll error)  XML
Origin  > Bugs and Issues
Author Message




Joined: 10/26/2011 22:09:45
Messages: 5
Offline

When I try to run Battlefield 3 from Origin it keeps crashing and says Battlefield 3 has stopped working.

Problem signature:
Problem Event Name: BEX
Application Name: bf3.exe
Application Version: 1.0.0.0
Application Timestamp: 4e9d3315
Fault Module Name: MSVCR100.dll
Fault Module Version: 10.0.40219.1
Fault Module Timestamp: 4d5f0c22
Exception Offset: 0008af3e
Exception Code: c0000417
Exception Data: 00000000
OS Version: 6.1.7601.2.1.0.256.1
Locale ID: 1033
Additional Information 1: 4b57
Additional Information 2: 4b575facc7dae1046b17ac1bead1d4d6
Additional Information 3: f0e5
Additional Information 4: f0e53be32ce9ad5cffff7cf8adae4040


I've tried everything.

- Deleted Origin and BF3 and redownloaded both.
- Opted for the Origin Beta.
- Clicked BF3 Check for Update - Always says the game is up to date.
- Clicked BF3 Repair Install - Always redownloads BF3.exe and asks me to check the release date again.
- Removed all the Microsoft Visual C++ 2010 Redistributable Packages on my computer.
- Tried reinstalling both Microsoft Visual C++ 2010 Redistributable Package (x86) and the SP1 version.
- Deleting msvcr100.dll and replacing it with different signed versions from Microsoft.
- Removed the TM from the display name in the registry.
- Disabled Cloud storage
- Disabled Enable Origin in Game
- Upgraded to Catalyst 11.10 version 3 preview.
- Running Origin under admin.
- Running Origin under compatibility mode for Vista.

Is anyone else having this problem?

This message was edited 3 times. Last update was at 11/10/2011 10:44:36





Joined: 10/28/2011 08:37:32
Messages: 1
Offline

Same Problem I did the same like you but it doesnt work. I had the same problem in the beta without any solution.




Joined: 10/29/2011 06:28:22
Messages: 2
Offline

Same problem here, I have done everything you have tried and have even tried reinstalling windows. I have been troubleshooting since the game came out and nothing has worked!




Joined: 10/29/2011 07:00:46
Messages: 1
Offline

i got the same .icant play the game or get it startet.




Joined: 10/21/2011 06:32:49
Messages: 5
Offline

Same here. Did all the things short of reinstalling Windows. Was able to play beta though, no prob...




Joined: 10/31/2011 16:41:31
Messages: 5
Offline

bottiger wrote:Is anyone else having this problem?


yes, i do. exactly the same poo.... error report shows the same message to me. taskmanager shows bf3.exe few seconds, then it disappears, origin shows "ready" again. did almost the same you did. i'm very desperate! seems there is no possibility a.t.m. then wait for an patch?!

dear ElectonicArts, i ever loved you, but this is really a bad move from you! this origin thing and this huge bug...


Developer
[Avatar]
Joined: 04/12/2011 11:23:44
Messages: 944
Offline

Hey all,

Have you tried disabling Origin In Game overlay?

Here's how to turn it off:

1. Exit any game processes that are running.
2. In Origin, go to the Options button (Cog wheel) and select Settings.
3. Click the In Game tab.
4. Uncheck the option marked "Enable Origin In Game".

Now launch your game. Does this help?

If yes, then chances are that the Origin In Game feature is conflicting with another application that can also draw on-screen inside of your games.

Are you running Steam, Xfire, Fraps, Ati Tray tools (has a frame rate counter) or anything that shows video card info (Frames per second, CPU temp) while in game? If so we'd like to know so we can improve our compatibility with these apps.

Regards,

EA_MikeNoface
Origin Live Support




Joined: 10/31/2011 16:41:31
Messages: 5
Offline

hi mike, thank you for your answer. unfortunately it does NOT help. the main problem is with the MSVCR100.dll ... i'll keep messing around and will report.

cheers
victor

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 11/01/2011 05:56:41





Joined: 10/30/2011 12:29:04
Messages: 2
Offline

Hi mike, after disabling origin in game, problem is still here :X
No changes




Joined: 10/31/2011 16:41:31
Messages: 5
Offline

i don't get the clou...

i did deinstall all microsoft visual c++ redistributable packs and updates and all programms that could have something to do with, like visual studio express whitch has some extra packages... ok, execute bf. same error, pointing to msvcr100.dll from catalyst folder. ok... reinstalled all, microsoft update of redistributable packs. execute bf, same bull5h17, again to c:\windows\system32\msvcr100.dll..... *aaargh*!!!! and it's the newest version (10.0.40219.325)!
i even used the dll from the bf-core folder, nothing....
i really don't know what it is...!

well, maybe a fresh OS setup would help... but i'm not in for setup my rack just for this...

This message was edited 2 times. Last update was at 11/01/2011 08:02:02





Joined: 03/22/2010 02:17:42
Messages: 3
Offline

Problem Event Name: BEX looks to be related to DEP kicking in. http://technet.microsoft.com/en-us/library/cc738483(WS.10).aspx

Try disabling it and see if it works.

Open System by clicking the Start button, clicking Control Panel, clicking System and Maintenance, and then clicking System.
1. Click Advanced System Settings. If you are prompted for an administrator password or confirmation, type the password or provide confirmation.
2. Under Performance, click Settings.
3. Click the Data Execution Prevention tab, and then click Turn on DEP for all programs and services except those I select.




Joined: 11/02/2011 13:04:02
Messages: 2
Offline

bottiger wrote:When I try to run Battlefield 3 from Origin it keeps crashing and says Battlefield 3 has stopped working.

Problem signature:
Problem Event Name: BEX
Application Name: bf3.exe
Application Version: 1.0.0.0
Application Timestamp: 4e9d3315
Fault Module Name: MSVCR100.dll
Fault Module Version: 10.0.40219.1
Fault Module Timestamp: 4d5f0c22
Exception Offset: 0008af3e
Exception Code: c0000417
Exception Data: 00000000
OS Version: 6.1.7601.2.1.0.256.1
Locale ID: 1033
Additional Information 1: 4b57
Additional Information 2: 4b575facc7dae1046b17ac1bead1d4d6
Additional Information 3: f0e5
Additional Information 4: f0e53be32ce9ad5cffff7cf8adae4040


I've tried everything.

- Deleted Origin and BF3 and redownloaded both.
- Opted for the Origin Beta.
- Clicked BF3 Check for Update - Always says the game is up to date.
- Clicked BF3 Repair Install - Always redownloads BF3.exe and asks me to check the release date again.
- Removed all the Microsoft Visual C++ 2010 Redistributable Packages on my computer.
- Tried reinstalling both Microsoft Visual C++ 2010 Redistributable Package (x86) and the SP1 version.
- Deleting msvcr100.dll and replacing it with different signed versions from Microsoft.
- Removed the TM from the display name in the registry.
- Disabled Cloud storage
- Disabled Enable Origin in Game
- Upgraded to Catalyst 11.10 version 3 preview.
- Running Origin under admin.
- Running Origin under compatibility mode for Vista.

Is anyone else having this problem?


same problem here, additionally I disabled DEP and still it didn't work....
looks like money wasted :/

in case someone was interested in my conf:
Windows 7 64 bit
C2D P8400
Radeon 4650M 512 MB DDR3
4 GB RAM

error I get:

This message was edited 3 times. Last update was at 11/02/2011 22:54:38





Joined: 10/31/2011 02:57:20
Messages: 3
Offline

same error like bottiger & szanq posted b4:



also tried:

- Deleted Origin and BF3 and redownloaded both.
- Opted for the Origin Beta.
- Clicked BF3 Check for Update - Always says the game is up to date.
- Clicked BF3 Repair Install - Always redownloads BF3.exe and asks me to check the release date again.
- Removed all the Microsoft Visual C++ 2010 Redistributable Packages on my computer.
- Tried reinstalling both Microsoft Visual C++ 2010 Redistributable Package (x86) and the SP1 version.
- Deleting msvcr100.dll and replacing it with different signed versions from Microsoft.
- Removed the TM from the display name in the registry.
- Disabled Cloud storage
- Disabled Enable Origin in Game
- Upgraded to Catalyst 11.10 version 3 preview.
- Running Origin under admin.
- Running Origin under compatibility mode for Vista.

My System:

Core2Duo P8600 2,4GHz
4GB Ram
Ati Mobility Radeon HD 4650
Win 7 Ultimate 64bit

I saw a couple people with that graphics card, maybe special error with it?????
Hope ther comes a solution anytime soon -_-

Alkahna




Joined: 11/02/2011 01:20:11
Messages: 11
Offline

I don't believe mobile GPUs are officially supported. Could be wrong though.




Joined: 11/02/2011 13:04:02
Messages: 2
Offline

Soloburrito wrote:I don't believe mobile GPUs are officially supported. Could be wrong though.


well I haven't found anything mentioned about it on the box
Origin  > Bugs and Issues
Go to: