[Search]  Search   [Groups]  Back to EA Forum Index  
Mass Effect (TM) 3 has stopped working  XML
Origin  > Bugs and Issues
Author Message




Joined: 03/08/2012 20:49:25
Messages: 10
Offline

I know this is a known issue, but the suggested fix (replacing the awc.dll and EACore.dll files) is not working. The existing thread for this fault (http://forum.ea.com/eaforum/posts/list/45/8242672.page) hasn't been updated by EA for a week, and in the meantime WE CANNOT PLAY THE GAME.
I have owned ME3 for a week now, I can install it, I can update it, but I cannot play it. I have followed all of the suggestions in the existing thread, and they have not worked. I am not the only one in this position.

Please EA, at least let us know that you are doing something about this. No comment since 08/03 is too long.


EA Representative
[Avatar]
Joined: 01/19/2012 19:35:54
Messages: 23631
Location: EA Redwood Shores, Suzhou - China
Offline

hi Suragai,
Thank you for posting here. Currently the latest version of Origin is 8.5.1.15. Please try it.
What happen?

EA_OriginSupport
Please visit help.origin.com for solutions to common Origin issues.
[WWW]




Joined: 03/08/2012 20:49:25
Messages: 10
Offline

I've checked my Origin install, looking in Help it talks about 8.5 or 8.5.0 as the version. I uninstalled Origin and downloaded it again from the http://www.origin.com/download page and reinstalled. I let it update and checked the version again, it still refers to version 8.5.0.

When I try to launch ME3 from Origin I get the "Mass Effect(TM) 3 has stopped working" - details from this error are:

Problem Event Name: APPCRASH
Application Name: MassEffect3.exe
Application Version: 1.1.5427.4
Application Timestamp: 4f46d052
Fault Module Name: awc.dll
Fault Module Version: 3.2.4.6
Fault Module Timestamp: 4ee2521d
Exception Code: c0000005
Exception Offset: 000806b7
OS Version: 6.1.7601.2.1.0.256.48
Locale ID: 1033
Additional Information 1: 0a9e
Additional Information 2: 0a9e372d3b4ad19135b953a78882e789
Additional Information 3: 0a9e
Additional Information 4: 0a9e372d3b4ad19135b953a78882e789

I am running ME3 with the two updated .dll files and as admin. I can launch "Kingdoms Of Amalur: Reckoning" from the same install of Origin without any issues. I was able to play the ME3 demo, though I have uninstalled this while trying to resolve this issue. I have reinstalled both Origin and ME3 several times, and I have also tried uninstalling the Physx software and allowing this to be reinstalled from my ME3 DVDs.
The DXDiag report from my PC can be seen in the thread http://forum.ea.com/eaforum/posts/list/15/8242672.page, near the bottom of page two.
I really hope you can get this working for me. If I am running the wrong version of Origin, please provide a download link.


EA Representative
[Avatar]
Joined: 01/19/2012 19:35:54
Messages: 23631
Location: EA Redwood Shores, Suzhou - China
Offline

Hi Suragai,

Could you try to update your Origin from_ http://www.origin.com/about ? download it and update.

And have you tried the method metioned in http://forum.ea.com/eaforum/posts/list/8216792.page ? See '8. ME3 crash with awc.dll EAcore.dll '.

And try again, also please put down your troubleshooting steps here if still problem occurs.

Thanks!

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 03/15/2012 01:36:18

[WWW]




Joined: 03/08/2012 20:49:25
Messages: 10
Offline

I downloaded the Origin client from the http://www.origin.com/about address as suggested (OriginThinSetup.exe), uninstalled the existing version then ran the setup. When I check the version in Win7's uninstall utility it shows as 8.5.0.4554 still, and I get the same error as above.
I am using the two updated .dll files, as I mentioned in both my earlier comments, they have not made any difference. As for the steps I have taken I have tried all of the following (again, as mentioned above):
Uninstalling/reinstalling the Origin client, ME3 and the Physx software. Setting ME3 to run as admin. Replacing the awc.dll and EACore.dll files as per the comments in http://forum.ea.com/eaforum/posts/list/45/8242672.page. I then rebooted the PC, logged into Origin and checked for updates on ME3, then tried to launch the game from Origin. I get the error message quoted in my post above - this is the same error I have had with every attempt to run the game since I bought it a week ago.

I am able to run other games from Origin (Kingdoms of Amalur: Reckoning) and I am able to run ME2 from my EA account.


EA Representative
[Avatar]
Joined: 01/19/2012 19:35:54
Messages: 23631
Location: EA Redwood Shores, Suzhou - China
Offline

Hi Suragai ,

Please read the following document to update to 8.5.1.15: http://forum.ea.com/eaforum/posts/list/8275831.page

[WWW]




Joined: 03/08/2012 20:49:25
Messages: 10
Offline

I have upgraded to Origin 8.5.1.15, but I still get the same error when launching the game:

Problem Event Name: APPCRASH
Application Name: MassEffect3.exe
Application Version: 1.1.5427.4
Application Timestamp: 4f46d052
Fault Module Name: awc.dll
Fault Module Version: 3.2.4.6
Fault Module Timestamp: 4ee2521d
Exception Code: c0000005
Exception Offset: 000806b7
OS Version: 6.1.7601.2.1.0.256.48
Locale ID: 1033
Additional Information 1: 0a9e
Additional Information 2: 0a9e372d3b4ad19135b953a78882e789
Additional Information 3: 0a9e
Additional Information 4: 0a9e372d3b4ad19135b953a78882e789




Joined: 03/08/2012 20:49:25
Messages: 10
Offline

It's been almost a month and I still cannot play this game.
I've had the same fault from the beginning, with awc.dll causing ME3 to crash as soon as I try to launch it. I've posted in several different threads, and I have tried all of the different suggestions I have seen, none of these have made the slightest difference.

Frankly, I'd rather have my money back, so I could buy a game that will work. Unfortunately, it isn't the store I bought the game through that is at fault, it's EA's.

I have tried the following:

Reinstalled the game (multiple times)
Reinstalled Origin, both the normal version and the New Origin 8.5.1 Pre-Release 3/13 version (as per http://forum.ea.com/eaforum/posts/list/8275831.page)
Replaced both the awc.dll and eacore.dll files (as per http://forum.ea.com/eaforum/posts/list/45/8242672.page#2088677
Changed the Selective Startup options (as per http://social.bioware.com/forum/1/topic/344/index/9653112/10)
Checked the Advanced Settings for Windows Firewall and ensured ME3 is enabled (Origin does not appear) (as per http://social.bioware.com/forum/1/topic/344/index/9653112/10)
I have also updated all of the various sound, graphics and system drivers, made sure Windows is fully up to date and reinstalled the Physx drivers.

All of this has made no difference at all. I can play Kingdoms of Amalur via Origin, but have never been able to launch ME3 successfully. I was able to play the ME3 demo without a problem when it came out.
I still get the folowing:

Problem Event Name: APPCRASH
Application Name: MassEffect3.exe
Application Version: 1.1.5427.4
Application Timestamp: 4f46d052
Fault Module Name: awc.dll
Fault Module Version: 3.2.4.6
Fault Module Timestamp: 4ee2521d
Exception Code: c0000005
Exception Offset: 000806b7
OS Version: 6.1.7601.2.1.0.256.48
Locale ID: 1033
Additional Information 1: 0a9e
Additional Information 2: 0a9e372d3b4ad19135b953a78882e789
Additional Information 3: 0a9e
Additional Information 4: 0a9e372d3b4ad19135b953a78882e789

I'm going to look for a pirated copy instead - I suspect that will be more effective than waiting for EA to care.




Joined: 12/13/2012 23:32:47
Messages: 5
Offline

I have exactly the same problem. I am playing ME3, NFS Most Wanted and Burnout Paradise. ME3 was working for me for a a few months without problem - though I did at one stage need to use the replacement files, but it started giving this message about 3 weeks ago, and using the same steps as the original poster of this thread, I also am having no success. The worst part is that I'm only halfway through the game, not to mention all my unfinished multiplayer challenges!

A bit of info that might help you in diagnosing: I recently upgraded from Win7 to Win8, and replaced my motherboard. Since the upgrade, ME3 worked for 2 weeks before starting to give this message. At first a restart of the game worked, but now it's permanent.
However, NFS and Burnout have no problem whatsoever.

Please help!


EA Representative
[Avatar]
Joined: 01/19/2012 19:35:54
Messages: 23631
Location: EA Redwood Shores, Suzhou - China
Offline

Hi Yazbekistan ,

If you have installed Win 8 for you PC,please install the latested version origin :9.1.3.2637 ,after that try it again.

Regards
[WWW]




Joined: 12/13/2012 23:32:47
Messages: 5
Offline

Hi,

I have just checked the version of Origin installed, and it is the one you mention: 9.1.3.2637 - 204018


EA Representative
[Avatar]
Joined: 01/19/2012 19:35:54
Messages: 23631
Location: EA Redwood Shores, Suzhou - China
Offline

Hi Yazbekistan,

Suggest that you can uninstall Origin totally.

Delete folder in C:\Program Files\Origin.

Then install Origin again, after login Origin, do a repair for the ME3.

Regards,

EA_OriginSupport
Please visit help.origin.com for solutions to common Origin issues.
[WWW]




Joined: 12/13/2012 23:32:47
Messages: 5
Offline

Hi,

Okay I did that. Unfortunately still the same results.

Just to explain to you exactly where it does it: Upon starting the game, I connect to EA and get to the game's Menu. Then, upon entering either Resume (single player) or Multiplayer, it loads for about 15 seconds, and that's when the message comes and closes the game.


EA Representative
[Avatar]
Joined: 01/19/2012 19:35:54
Messages: 23631
Location: EA Redwood Shores, Suzhou - China
Offline

Hi Yazbekistan,

Could you please help to make a screenshot for this?

Regards,

EA_OriginSupport
Please visit help.origin.com for solutions to common Origin issues.
[WWW]




Joined: 12/13/2012 23:32:47
Messages: 5
Offline

I've tried to , but I don't understand how to post an image here. Could you please guide me? Thanks
Origin  > Bugs and Issues
Go to: