[Search]  Search   [Groups]  Back to EA Forum Index  
Elevation changes  XML
Tiger Woods PGA TOUR Online  > Tips, Hints, & Strategies

Ok, I am a newbie, but I had been playing TW in the past on my PC. It seemed a lot easier to deal with elevation changes. August is especially difficult. With downhill shots, you take less club, correct? I am constantly missing greens at Augusta. i know some of it a guess, but is there some sort of rule of thumb I can use to guess distances based on elevation?

I add one yard for each yard of elevation and subtract one yard for each yard down. Up 21 feet - add 7 yards. Of course a lot depends on course conditions and the club you are hitting. Give it a try and make your own adjustments.

My formula is a bit different from egi's but I find it works well for me. Divide the elevation given by the game (measured in feet) by 4 and compensate for the elevation by adding or removing the result measured in yards.

Elevation of 22 ft lower: 5 yards less club. A target 43 ft higher: +11 yds

[Avatar]

Another problem is hardness of the green.. after you adjust for elevation you have to adjust for the green hardness and the wind as well. I too like to divide by 4. The true number is probably 4.1 or something but then you need a calculator to play this game. Soft greens require about 2% more distance and hard ones about 2% less. Two yards per hundred up or down. There are members that can hit every shot within 2-3 yards of the cup in all conditions and they have a more exact system.

Windows 8 Pro 64 Bit, 2 Cards SLI NVidia GeForce GTS450, Intel Core i7 CPU 920 @2.67GHz, 6.0 GB Ram

Since i'm blind, I play by feel.

P.S.- And i'm also a perpetual liar!

[Avatar]

Never seen anyone play like Keef... no previews and every shot within 3 feet of the cup.... I have seen you write about his system and it is spot on...

Windows 8 Pro 64 Bit, 2 Cards SLI NVidia GeForce GTS450, Intel Core i7 CPU 920 @2.67GHz, 6.0 GB Ram

Thanks guys that helps a lot!