[Search]  Search   [Groups]  Back to EA Forum Index  
Simcity Mac resolution and performance issues  XML
SimCity  > General Discussion
Author Message




Joined: 08/29/2013 13:13:26
Messages: 1
Offline

I've just run SimCity for Mac for the first time and it seems that I cannot choose the native screen resolution for my iMac 27'. It only goes up to 1920x1400. If I play at 1920x1080 the game is unplayable. It stutters along unable to produce a frame rate anything close to acceptable.

You might say, "Your Mac can't handle the graphics", yet I have been playing the PC version on a Bootcamp partition on the very same Mac at 2560x1440 resolution with good frame rates and graphics since June.

Considering I have waited an additional 6 months for this version, it seems that the developers have done no testing and have very little understanding of set ups for Macs.

Is anyone else having the same problems?




Joined: 04/01/2012 09:23:48
Messages: 86
Offline

Macwelshman wrote:I've just run SimCity for Mac for the first time and it seems that I cannot choose the native screen resolution for my iMac 27'. It only goes up to 1920x1400. If I play at 1920x1080 the game is unplayable. It stutters along unable to produce a frame rate anything close to acceptable.

You might say, "Your Mac can't handle the graphics", yet I have been playing the PC version on a Bootcamp partition on the very same Mac at 2560x1440 resolution with good frame rates and graphics since June.

Considering I have waited an additional 6 months for this version, it seems that the developers have done no testing and have very little understanding of set ups for Macs.

Is anyone else having the same problems?


Everyone has the same problems as you, the Mac version is totally unplayable.
It was already laggy in Windows, even with my Retina MacBook Pro 15 inch




Joined: 05/25/2013 13:54:04
Messages: 17
Offline

I am having the same issues. Game performance with all graphic settings on high, at a resolution of 1920 x 1080, on my Bootcamped Windows 7 partition on a mid-2011 MacBook Pro is flawless. On OS X, with the exact same settings, it stutters horribly on a city plot that doesn't even have a road laid down, yet.

Well, it looks like I'll have to go back to rebooting the machine into Windows, just to play this game...




Joined: 11/24/2012 11:04:51
Messages: 164
Location: North East England
Offline

eversonj90 wrote:In-game graphics settings (screenshot of uploaded to imgur.com or elsewhere) would be good to know for those having issues.

Aswell as machine specs and OS X version.


I would, but using the universal "capture window" command (cmd-shift-4-space) renders a lovely title bar floating above a black rectangle. Same goes for using the game's "c" command. Not tried in full screen because the performance is TERRIBLE.

MacBook Pro Early 2011 - 2.2GHz Core i7 - AMD Radeon HD 6750M w/ 1GB DDR5 - 8GB DDR3 1600MHz RAM

Under Windows 7, the game runs well (about 30fps) with the following:
Resolution: 1650x1080 / Fullscreen ON / Lighting ULTRA / Textures HIGH / Shadows MEDIUM / Geometry HIGH / Animation HIGH / Tilt NORMAL / Anti-aliasing ON / Framecap 60 / V-synch ON (seriously why is this still an option? It should be on. This is not 1996)

Under MacOS 10.8.4, the game works terribly even at these settings:
Resolution 1024x768 / Fullscreen OFF (it barely works at all fullscreen) / Lighting LOW / Textures HIGH (because, come on, I have a gig of texture/shader memory) / Shadows OFF / Geometry MEDIUM / Animation LOW / Tilt LOW / AA OFF (turning it on cripples the game to crawling pace) / Framecap 30 / VS ON.

How the same game can run so differently on the same machine where the only difference is the resource library it calls to is truly outstanding. Running a WINE port of Red Alert 3 is more stable than this. For shame, Maxis, for shame.

I play on a notebook with 2.2GHz Core i7 (Sandy Bridge), 8GB 1600MHz RAM, and a Radeon HD 6750M with 1024MB shader memory.

Under Windows 7, SC'13 runs acceptably. Under MacOS v10.9, it runs like frozen treacle.




Joined: 11/24/2012 11:04:51
Messages: 164
Location: North East England
Offline

eversonj90 wrote:Does the same capturing issue occur using Cmd + Shift + 4?


Yes. Also the cursor glitches out - it's trying to be both the crosshair and the SC pointer while it's over the window. It's kinda psychedelic watching it.

I play on a notebook with 2.2GHz Core i7 (Sandy Bridge), 8GB 1600MHz RAM, and a Radeon HD 6750M with 1024MB shader memory.

Under Windows 7, SC'13 runs acceptably. Under MacOS v10.9, it runs like frozen treacle.




Joined: 08/29/2013 14:53:48
Messages: 1
Offline

Yeah, after multiple delays EA shows just how inept they are. I already requested my refund.





Joined: 01/15/2013 19:42:56
Messages: 16
Offline

i have a brand spanking new 27in iMac with 675 graphics card. and i have to put every settting to low and can not play above 1920x1400 and i also have 10.8.4. i know it's been said. but i wanted to get my issue in so maxis can see alot of ppl have this problem.




Joined: 08/29/2013 15:57:28
Messages: 1
Offline

Was stoked to finally play the game, 10 min in and I'm just majorly disappointed. The graphics look terrible (macbook air hd4000, 8gb ram), they should have said that game is not playable with my specs and I would have appriciated that alot more.

I assume they have tested the game on several macs, how in the world can you then not update people that the graphics would just suck on a macbook air. First they delay the launch and now they don't deliver. How many times is needed to fail before something changes.

And it seems across the whole range of macs, people are complaining about the experience. Majorly bad business management within MAXIS/EA.

I either want a solution soon or a freaking refund.


This message was edited 2 times. Last update was at 08/29/2013 14:27:52





Joined: 08/29/2013 16:20:08
Messages: 1
Offline

Same problems here:

MacBook Air Mid 2012
Resolution: 1920x1200 with external Monitor.

System:
1,8 GHz i5
8GB DDR3
Intel HD Graphics 4000 512MB
250GB Flashdrive

The game stutters with the lowest possible settings. Are you kidding me?




Joined: 08/29/2013 16:20:42
Messages: 1
Offline

I, too, have been running the game on my MBP retina 15" since the release of the game. I run Windows 8 on Parallels and that version runs CONSIDERABLY more smoothly than the Mac version. All that wait for some more waiting! But, no bother b!tching about it since we all paid our hard-earned money willingly when we knew EA wasn't pulling weight.




Joined: 06/23/2010 19:26:26
Messages: 11
Offline

vikingsim wrote:i have a brand spanking new 27in iMac with 675 graphics card. and i have to put every settting to low and can not play above 1920x1400 and i also have 10.8.4. i know it's been said. but i wanted to get my issue in so maxis can see alot of ppl have this problem.


Oh great, I just got a new iMac 27" 680 MX 32GB RAM 3.4 i7 I would hope it would play flawlessly.... but its not looking good from all the comments.

I am stuck at work and this does not give me much hope....




Joined: 12/12/2011 06:16:30
Messages: 1272
Offline

What would have been more surprising is if it actually worked like its suppose too.





Joined: 03/07/2012 16:07:32
Messages: 8
Offline

Sadly I'm having the same problems. I have a 27" iMac and I can't play it at Native resolution (it is not even a choice), native is 2560x1440 and the highest I can go is 1920x1080 (or something like that). Of course, it looks like crap at this resolution. It's weird because I can play it at Native when I bootcamp to windows.

Oh and I'm running it on the latest Mountain Lion version. 8gb ram, i7 and so on...

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 08/29/2013 15:34:49





Joined: 05/17/2013 13:49:49
Messages: 182
Offline


This is still unfinished work sold at full price.

I guess there is not any Mac machine in the Quality Section of this SimTroup.

If a Quality Section does really exist.

I cannot describe my frustration.

times must change

motd:
Any fool can make a rule, and any fool will mind it.
Thoreau




Joined: 08/29/2013 17:50:11
Messages: 2
Offline

I'm having the same problem. 2012 MBP, 2.5GHz quad i7, 8 GB RAM, 6770M 1GB GPU, SSD, OS X 10.8.4. Runs fine under Windows 7 and is slow to the point of not playable under Mac OS X. After all the wait, this is pathetic frankly.

Edit: One more thing, not only does the performance suck, the graphics look like crap on Mac OS X

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 08/29/2013 16:04:14

SimCity  > General Discussion
Go to: