[Search]  Search   [Groups]  Back to EA Forum Index  
Sim City Mac Graphics issues on a very well equipped Mac Pro....  XML
SimCity  > General Discussion
Author Message




Joined: 08/29/2013 20:06:59
Messages: 5
Offline

I'm having poor graphics performance issues, stuttering, and lag when playing sim city on OSX. When playing in boot camp on Windows 7 I don't have any problems at all, it's even smooth when all settings are maxed out. When playing in OSX with settings maxed out, it's pretty much unplayable. I know for a fact it is not my computer... I'm running a Mac Pro with OSX 10.8.4, 8 core Intel Xeon processors, 32GB of ram, 4 solid state hard drives, and an ATI Radeon HD 5870 with 1GB Ram. Good job once again EA... Please fix this!!!!




Joined: 08/29/2013 20:06:59
Messages: 5
Offline

I saw the other posts regarding this issue, but seemed like those were all IMac and MacBooks so I wanted to post this regarding Mac Pro's. Any other people running a Mac Pro with sim city? How can they not realize this when testing the game before release? Pisses me off...




Joined: 04/23/2013 16:32:25
Messages: 3
Offline

I run the game on a 2006 Mac Pro...12GB Ram booted into Win7. Runs fine with max settings. Just installed on a 1st Gen 27" iMac 2.8 GHz Core i7, 4 GB Ram and it runs like garbage. I've also run the game on this same computer while booted into Win7 and it ran great. Not sure what's going on.




Joined: 08/29/2013 20:06:59
Messages: 5
Offline

Yea, see mine runs perfect in Windows as well, garbage in OSX. I don't understand how this can be a problem for some people, and not for others. Especially on Mac's that far exceed requirements to run the game...




Joined: 04/23/2013 16:32:25
Messages: 3
Offline

I just fired up the game after setting to 1600x900, and it seems to have made a HUGE difference...




Joined: 08/29/2013 20:06:59
Messages: 5
Offline

Yea I just tried it. It is better, but it doesn't look near as good, and it is still a little jerky for me. I hope they fix this. I really don't want to have to play it on windows.
SimCity  > General Discussion
Go to: